Underage DUI Lawyer in Baltimore

Contact Us for a Free Consult if You’re Dealing with an Underage DUI Charge in Baltimore

DUI charges are very serious charges that can carry heavy consequences. These become much more serious when the driver is also under the legal drinking age of 21. Maryland has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking, compounded with drinking and driving.

 

If you are under 21 and charged with a DUI, you could be facing fines, jail time, loss of your license, court fees, an ignition interlock system, and more. Protect yourself by hiring Saller Law underage drinking attorneys in Baltimore.

 

We help advocate for you to reduce charges, lighten penalties, and prepare you for what comes next following an underage DUI charge in Baltimore. Do not go it alone, get professional legal assistance from our criminal law firm.

FIRST TIME CONSULTATIONS ARE FREE

Call today and hear back from us within twenty four hours, guaranteed

CONTACT US FOR A FREE CONSULT

What is an Underage DUI Charge in Baltimore

Unlike a standard DUI charge, an underage DUI charge has a lower BAC limit with severe penalties for the driver. If you are under 21, you can be charged with a DUI if your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .02% or higher. For most persons, this can mean a minimum of one drink will result in a DUI.

 

If pulled over for a driving violation or as part of a general traffic stop, officers may request a breathalyzer test if they smell alcohol. It is not enough to believe one drink will not impair your driving and therefore will not cause an accident – if you are underage and take a drink, you may be pulled over and charged with a DUI.

Baltimore First Offense DUI Lawyer

Consequences of an Underage DUI in Baltimore

In Baltimore, an underage DUI can carry the weight of fines, jail time, license suspension, and a mandatory ignition interlock system. Maryland has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving, so it is critical to get an underage DUI lawyer in Baltimore to help protect your driving privileges for work and school.

 

If you are over 18 but under 21 you will be tried in criminal court as an adult. Under 18 will be referred to the juvenile court system, where you will want an experienced juvenile defense lawyer in Baltimore to advocate for you or your child.

 

If convicted of an underage DUI charge, the DUI will remain present on your criminal record. This will result in higher insurance premiums, needing to disclose this status on employment or education applications, and can affect other privileges in the future.

 

An underage DUI charge in Maryland may result in:

  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • Court fees
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Ignition interlock installation + maintenance fees

What to Do if You’re Charged with an Underage DUI in Baltimore

Consulting with an experienced underage DUI attorney in Baltimore is critical when facing an underage DUI charge. An underage DUI charge will carry the same consequences as a first time DUI charge, plus mandatory ignition interlock system participation. The more DUIs you accumulate, the worse the consequences get for each subsequent charge, so a DUI charge should not be taken lightly.

 

At Saller Law, our Baltimore underage DUI attorneys are experienced in DUI defense, criminal defense, and juvenile court. We help assess the situation, fight for your privileges, and work to reduce criminal charges to protect your future.

 

Don’t let your future go to chance and risk loss of driving privileges to help with school and work. Set up a free consult today to see how our team can assist you with your underage DUI charge in Baltimore.

It’s your future, fight to protect it with the help of our Baltimore DUI defense attorneys.

We Are:

Experienced

Knowledgeable

Skillful

One on One Support

Underage DUI FAQ

An underage DUI charge in Maryland can result in up to $1,000 in fines, court fees, up to 1 year in jail, a license suspension, and mandatory participation in the ignition interlock system. An underage DUI lawyer can help outline possible outcomes for your underage DUI charge.

A DUI under 21 is considered an underage DUI charge. Maryland has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. This can result in fines, jail time, loss of license, and an ignition interlock system installation. If you are over 18, you will be tried as an adult in criminal court.

Yes, you can go to jail for underage drinking. Per underage DUI laws in Maryland, you can face up to one year in jail if convicted of an underage DUI charge. It is important to consult with an experienced DUI lawyer to assist in your underage DUI charge to reduce penalties and get the best outcome.